With the Timeline being introduced, there has been a serious talk about security concerns on Facebook. Users have started taking their security concerns as threat to their privacy. Well most of the people are too worried thinking about the security concerns that they hardly dive deep enough to know what Facebook has to offer to protect your personal information.

Timeline has not only added a new look to our Facebook profile but has also given us some new security options which most of us are unaware of. So i am blogging this article to make you aware what Facebook has to offer to save your privacy. Check out the steps below to understand Facebook a little more.

When you login to your account, you may now be greeted by an offer to take a tour of the new features, so let’s get started:

1. Who are you with ?

The first option is to tag who i happen to be with, to make your friends aware what are you up to at that time and what friends and colleagues you are with.


It’s true that’s you’re known by the company you keep – now it’s more true than ever. This feature can be harmful not only to you but to your friends as well. For eg if u add some of your friends whom you are with and even add a place of a restaurant you are in,  scammers can know you are not at home nor are your friends. So physical scam is also possible and your friends are more vulnerable to such scams. Thats not what freinds are for.

2. What is your location ?

Here you can opt to display where you are located when you update your status:


This feature can help your friends know where you are. But also be sure that this feature can also make scammers aware where you are. So if u click a photo of a place which is far away from your house and upload it to Facebook, this will make the scammers aware that you will not be home for a couple of hours. So beware of using this option. I will suggest you to inform your friends in the old fashioned way – by calling.

3. Control privacy when you post

Here you can determine the audience for your status updates:


It’s nice that they mention Public vs. Everyone. Public has a way of letting you know that pretty much anyone can see content that’s Public, not just Everyone who’s your friend. To quote Facebook, “The setting still means the anyone on the internet can view this content, and any of your past Everyone posts are still visible to the same audience.” Facebook calls this the “inline audience selector.”

Now there is learn more option at the end. I clicked on it. What appeared is here.

Sharing overview


4. Account settings

Now let’s head over to account settings and look around. Here it tells you the last time you changed your password:


5. Security settings :


Let’s start by enabling Secure Browsing , so your traffic will be encrypted while you’re logged in. This makes it more difficult for prying eyes to intercept your communication with Facebook and do nasty things. It’s simple and it’ll give you a nice little boost in security, so why not?

It’s not enabled by default, but you can enable it like this:

Security Settings :


When you do enable https, Facebook should automatically re-direct you to the https:// version of the site, instead of the regular http://. The next time you login, it should do the same.

6. Log in notification


When you enable this feature, you will receive a email when ever  someone logs into your account with new device. Mostly we access our Fb from a couple of devices, so if scammers log into your account with a new device you will receive an email.

7. Log in approvals


Here you can choose to specifically allow/deny a login from a computer the system hasn’t seen before. If you only access Facebook from a single (or a couple) devices, this might make sense. If you work on the road from a variety of platforms, the extra steps might become a burden.

8. App passwords


Third party apps would appear to the main Facebook site as a third party attempting to access your information. If you had Login Approvals enabled, you’d get a notification each time the app tried to access information, a possible big pain. If you use this feature, you generate login information for the app, and then it uses it to access your information.

9. Recognised devises


This is a list of the devices that are approved to be used to log in to your Facebook account, if you enabled the Login Notifications above. There should be a list of devices, which you will be prompted to provide names for. If some device not listed tries to login, it will question whoever is attempting the login.

10. Active sessions


Here, you can see who’s currently logged in, and kick anyone out who shouldn’t be there. It will also try (with varying degrees of success) to tell you what type of OS and browser they use.

Drop in your comments to let us know if are satisfied with this post and if you have any queries , please be free to drop in your comments.